Deleted Songs Analysis: Proud of Your Boy

I was requested to look at the deleted song of Aladdin called Proud of Your Boy for this week. The song is about the main character Aladdin singing to his mother (either literally or in a metaphorical sense) about him being a rotten, troubled, and troublesome kid who wants to change, do better, and to be something that is worthy of being proud of. Apparently the song was taken out of the film because of the countless changes made after Howard Ashman’s death in 1991, and these changes meaning taking out Aladdin’s mother from the film. It could be noted that the changes were to incorporate the Genie and Jasmine more into the film, so a lot of the cuts were because of that. And it could potentially be said that this was cut out, because it is kind of similar to One Jump Reprise. It (and most other deleted songs from the film) were reused in the Broadway version.

So the lyrics of the song start with him saying, “Proud of your boy; I’ll make you proud of your boy; Believe me, bad as I’ve been, Ma; You’re in for a pleasant surprise.” So this is summarizing that he sees a foreseeable turnaround. The lyrics then continue with, “I’ve wasted time. I’ve wasted me. So say I’m slow for my age; A late bloomer, Okay, I agree.” He is going over how he knows he is a late bloomer, and the choice of that word is interesting. Whenever people use the word “late bloomer,” they are using it to refer to human development, and I like how he is saying that he wasted time, and seeing how precious it is. The song kind of repeats with lyrics like that, and since the song is not as long as the song I covered last week, there is not much more of me to recite lyrically.

Like I mentioned, the song is very similar to One Jump Ahead reprise, but the main difference is that the former focuses on society’s thought of him, and how there is much more to him. It does not really seem like he is taking any responsibility, but kind of whining about how there is more to him, and how he does not buy what the others are saying (even though he clearly does later in the film). In this song, the message is the same, but his mother is used as a more emotional tool, and he is taking more responsibility of the decisions he made in his life. In the broadway version, there is no mother, but it is used as a promise he made to his mother about never stealing again.

Now it is time to get to the “if” portion of the post. Many say that this could have fit in the movie, it being used to sing to his deceased mother, which could have been done. My only issue is that One Jump Ahead Reprise was already there, and it may have been a bit jarring to go from him stealing to singing to his deceased mother. But to counter that, they did do it in the Broadway version. What I am for sure of is that in a film, both songs could not be in there, and play back to back.

I think that there was a lot of insecurity with the future of the project, so a lot of choices need to be made, and this song was one of the choices they had to make to remove.  My overall opinion is that it is a nice song, but they could have kept it or left it. There really is not much more to say.

So you can recommend me a Disney song to review next week. If there are no recommendations, I would obviously choose the next song. Thanks for reading.

8 thoughts on “Deleted Songs Analysis: Proud of Your Boy

  1. It wouldn’t have fit into the movie they finally made, but I can’t help but wondering if Aladdin could have been a stronger movie, with a convincing emotional core, if they had picked another direction.

    1. While I am a fan of the movie we got, I am a bit resentful of the stuff that was cut out. I believe it was all cut out because it would make the film easier to finish if they made it lighter in tone and a bunch of jokes. I think the original version would have been stronger.

  2. I pretty much agree with you. While this a good song, it definitely would have been jarring to see this song and One Jump Ahead back to back.

    You should check out the song Brothers All from The Jungle Book.

Leave a Reply

